Tag Archives: Bobby Jones

Head Games

 

As Jack Nicklaus entered the final years of his playing career, he joked that he had become a “ceremonial golfer.” These days, he has fully realized that particular title, having become part of the triumvirate that fires off the opening shots at Augusta each year. The Golden Bear remained remarkably competitive well into his 50’s, particularly at the Masters, where he found himself on the first page of the leaderboard on Sunday several times. But despite the relative longevity of career that golf affords, physical and mental wear and tear eventually catch up with even the best players – particularly the latter.

 

At the height of their powers, Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Ben Hogan and Bobby Jones (all of whom were the best of their respective eras) were incredibly focused at their craft, and were so mentally tough that oftentimes they could pull off a tournament win without having their best game. One of Jones’s most memorable quotes cites the most important 6 inches in the game of golf is the space between a golfer’s ears. It’s also instructive to know that Jones retired from competitive golf at the age of 28, explaining that “(championship golf) is something like a cage. First you are expected to get into it and then you are expected to stay there. But of course, nobody can stay there.”

 

Hogan, of course, was ultimately done in by a combination of the aftereffects of a horrific automobile accident and a stupefying case of the putting yips. Woods’s is a story yet unfinished, but it’s pretty clear that since 2009, he’s fought an inward battle along with dealing with the physical ailments that have plagued him.

 

For most of us who play the game recreationally, if the word “tournament” is thrown into the mix, even on a course on which we regularly play, a nervousness [sometimes even a panic] sets in. Instead of the usual light-hearted banter and needling one generally hears on the practice range, there’s a grim silence punctuated only by shots of varying degree of quality and the occasional oath either muttered or bellowed. And this is just on the practice tee.

 

And then the round begins, and we are paired with guys with whom we are at least acquainted and oftentimes are good friends, but this is a tournament, dammit, we need to bear down! More often than not, this scenario results in shots that can only be defined as stupefying, turning otherwise decent, clear-thinking men or women into emotional mush.

 

I have to say that more often than not, I’ve been guilty of this. I’ve managed some decent tournament performances, and even have won a few, although I tend to think the reason for that was because the formats under which they were played were so convoluted that it was hard to know how I stood during the course of the completion, so I didn’t let that part of it enter my mind. Whereas in a straight-up stroke play competition, I was usually pretty much toast going into things.

 

The Golf Nerd Goddess has played in a number of two and four person team events, and has generally fared well. Recently, however, she decided (or was coerced, in her words) into our Women’s Golf Association’s Match Play event. The matches were seeded, with lower handicappers taking on higher handicappers in the first round. The GNG is in the latter group, so she wound up drawing the reigning Woman’s Club Champion in her first match, and was understandably concerned with this particular match-up.

I tried the usual pep talk – hey, you’re getting a lot of strokes; she’s going to be as nervous as you; it will be a good experience. Her circle of golf friends all told her “just go out and have fun” while also providing her with all sorts of advice on how to beat her opponent (which they all wanted her to do, as it would greatly improve their chances in the tournament). All of which did nothing to make her any less apprehensive. To make matters worse, her match was delayed a week due to heavy rains that came through the area.

We had gone out on the course a few times to prepare for the match, particularly from a mental aspect (those who know me would scoff at the thought of me playing the role of Sports Psychologist, and I would not blame them). Our main focus was to play one shot at a time and repeat the same routine each time. We seemed to be making some progress.

Match day arrived, and GNG was nervous (she had awakened me at about 2:30 AM that morning to tell me she couldn’t sleep and had mentally played all 18 holes. I had to laugh, as I’ve gone through that same ordeal). We went over to the club to warm up, and then met up with the WCC and her husband. At this point I should mention that all of us are friendly; we’ve play rounds and dined together previously. But this was a “tournament round.”

And it showed. Both ladies were nervous; I could tell that the GNG was playing much too quickly, but because of the “no advice” rule, I couldn’t really say anything to her about it. But she hit just enough really good shots (while the WCC hit just enough poor ones) so that they were even after nine holes.

Unfortunately, things unraveled for the GNG at the start of the back nine. Some bad shots, a (under any other circumstances) hilarious putting display by both players on 10, and a ball in the water on 12 suddenly put her three down. I felt horribly for her, figuring that she was broken.

I was wrong – a 50-foot putt on 13 halved that hole, and then another lengthy putt dropped for her on 14 to bring her back to two down with four holes to go. But a golden opportunity to close to within 1 went for naught, and the WCC closed her out on 16.

The ladies hugged and I kissed the GNG, who wore an expression somewhere between disappointment and relief. “You made her sweat,” I told her.

We had lunch, ran a few errands, and then settled in for the evening. We talked about the match over several glasses of wine; I stressed how proud I was of her for not quitting and that the experience would help her in the future. She had seemed to accept the outcome all right, and we decided to turn in early.

I turned on the TV; we climbed into bed – and suddenly she blurted out – “I could have won that match! She was nervous; she did not play her best! I SHOULD have won!”

I tried again to explain that this was a building block, that she’d be better prepared next time .

“I don’t care! I lost. I feel terrible. How can anybody think this is fun?”

For that, I had no answer. I’m sure Jack, Tiger, Ben and Bobby would be at a loss, as well.

 

Advertisements

The Rules

One of the bromides of golf is that it’s a “gentlemen’s game,” much of which is based on the premise that a golfer is essentially honest, knows the rules of the game, and is willing to call a penalty on one’s self. The most cited story in this regard involves the legendary Bobby Jones, who, upon being praised for calling a rules infraction on himself that ultimately cost him a tournament, replied, “Why? You might as well congratulate me for not having robbed a bank.”

[A quick aside – the role of Jones in his bio-pic was played by Jim Caviezel, who is primarily known for his portrayal of Jesus in “The Passion of the Christ.” I prefer to think that this was co-incidence.]

The reality is a bit murky. A golfer being honest, I mostly accept. As for the rest of it . . .

Knowing the Rules of Golf is not quite like trying to pass the MCAT exam, although it does require a bit of study and is not always intuitive (In the USGA Rules of Golf, there are 7 pages alone devoted to the proper procedures for taking relief from hazards and obstructions – please refer to Rule 20: Lifting, Dropping and Placing; Playing from Wrong Place).  The manual is about 180 pages, covers the basic 34 rules, plus equipment policy, how to implement “Local Rules” – for example, if you play a course that has a preponderance of ‘gators, the course may create a local rule allowing relief from getting your foot bit off – and the official USGA policy on gambling, which is largely ignored.

Professional golfers and serious amateur tournament players follow the Rules to the letter. In the case of the pros, there are rules officials present at every tournament to assist players who aren’t quite sure how to proceed – but they only assist at the behest of a player.  This has led to some rather messy situations, primarily due to the phenomena known as the Golf Rules Fanatic (“GRF”).

The GRF watches every hour of televised golf and if he sees something he doesn’t care for, he’ll actually call in to the tournament to report a violation. The most famous example of this occurred in the 80’s in the final round of a tournament in California, where Craig Stadler, not wanting to dirty his pants, placed a towel on the ground to kneel on while he poked his ball back into the fairway.  A GRF called in, stating that by placing an object beneath him while swinging a club, he had “built a stance” and needed to be penalized 2 shots. Stadler did not penalize himself, and as he had already signed his scorecard, was disqualified, costing him in excess of $20,000 in the process. Stadler, of whom there’s never a doubt as to what he thinks about a particular shot or situation, took the news surprisingly well, acknowledging that ignorance of the law is no excuse.

Most of us who play on the weekend know enough to penalize ourselves for hitting it out of bounds or in a hazard, but a lot of how we decide to proceed is based on convenience . . . we don’t hole every putt, we’ll make arbitrary decisions if we’re holding up play (“Look, we can’t find your ball, so by rights you should go back to where you last play, but screw it, just drop one”), and if a course is not in the best of condition, we might decide it’s ok to “roll” the ball to get a more favorable lie. As long as everyone is on the same page, it makes for an enjoyable game on more practical terms.

What’s interesting for us, however, is when we choose to play in a tournament where it’s clearly stated that USGA rules are in effect. There are generally no rules officials on the course in these instances, which means that if a player is not sure how to proceed, he shouldn’t record his score or sign his scorecard until he’s reviewed the situation with the “Committee,” who in most cases is the head pro of the club where the tournament is being played.

Which leads us to my tale of woe. I played a tournament in Kitty Hawk, NC years ago at a club called Duck Woods. The first hole is a relatively short par 5, of which I was able to find myself about 15 yards to the left of the green in two shots. Visions of an up and down for birdie were dashed when I flubbed my pitch shot into a green side bunker.  I then proceeded to:

·     Leave my next shot in the bunker

·     Double hit the next shot (Rule 14-4. Striking the Ball More Than Once); the ball struck the top of the bunker, bounced backwards, and hit me (Rule 19-2 – Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Player, Partner, Caddie, or Equipment); landing again in the bunker

·     Hit the next cleanly onto the green

·     Sank the putt

I tried to mentally calculate my score but was unclear about what the double-hit and ball-striking-me penalties entailed, so I turned to my fellow competitors (both of whom had witnessed the whole sorry incident) and asked, “What did I make there?”

Almost unanimously, they answered, “Better ask the pro.”

When the round finished, I dutifully brought my scorecard to the pro, and related my story on the first hole to him. He listened patiently, looked at what I had scored on the other holes, and replied, “You made a ten there, son. That puts you only 18 shots off the lead.”

Needless to say, I did not go on to win the tournament. But like Bobby Jones, I played by the rules. Jim Caviezel won’t be playing the lead in my life story, but maybe I can get him as a partner at my next member/guest tournament.